The origin of the First Baptist Church of Livingston was
unique. Dissatisfied with any other form of worship that did
not stand for baptism by immersion, freedom of speech and
separation of church and state, five women, believing in God,
established a Sabbath school on July 26, 1888.
With this success, Rev. Spencer, General Missionary of the
Rocky Mountain District organized the church August 26, 1888.
The church was received into the state association on June
The next step was a proper meeting place. The Northern Pacific
Railroad officials were anxious to have Christian families
settle this new land. So, for $15 in legal fees, and the request
that a building of not less than $1,500.00 in value be built
within the year, four city lots at the corner of B & Lewis
Streets were donated.
In 1919, the church was closed from October 9 through December
18 due to the influenza outbreak.
In 1921, the constitution was amended. The pastor at that
time, Rev. Frank Butler, pointed out that the church had actually
not been following the constitution.
The church became self-supporting in April of 1924, thirty-six
years after the Sabbath Day School was started.
During the pastorate of H. R. Norwood, the church experienced
a time of rapid growth. "Because the church was overcrowded,
ten classes of the S.S. meeting in the parsonage, two in the
1OOF Hall on Main Street, and the church building crowded
at the worship service, we were again forced to think 'BUILDING'."
The original church building was torn down in 1936, and reconstruction
began on a new, modern church building with 39 rooms and a
baptistry. The basement was dug out with a team of horses.
Many men were laid off from the Northern Pacific Shop at the
time, so volunteer laborers were plentiful.
Before the new building was completed the as yet unfinished,
new church building was put into use. The funeral for Lemuel
Batten, Sr., the wedding of Clifford Neal and Vivian Crabtree
(a cousin of Bee Lees), and the baptism of Elmer N. Lindquist
Through the faithful tithing of the membership during these
unsettled and stressful financial times, along with donations,
dinners, cookbook sales, drama by the young people, and a
$0.50 charge for lunch meetings of the Women's Missionary
Society, a mortgage burning was held six years later.
In 1981, the protective glass covers for the seven stained
glass windows were installed.
In 1991, the wheelchair lift was installed through the B
Street entrance that originally led downstairs to the kitchen
from the street.
After 115 years, the bell (purchased from a church in Bozeman,
Montana for $100.00) still rings loud and clear proclaiming
the faithfulness and steadfastness of the membership to share
the Good News of Jesus Christ in Livingston.